Awards & Residencies

2023 – Whiria Te Whiria Te Mahara New Zealand History Grant from the Ministry for Culture and Heritage, for Blooming Impossible: A life of Jean Stevens

2023 – Charles Fleming Publishing Award from the Royal Society Te Apārangi, for Take Me With You 3!

2021 – Highly Commended in the Engineering New Zealand Heritage Awards, for Take Me With You!

2020 – Joint Winner: Outstanding Contribution to Heritage Award, inaugural Whanganui Regional Heritage Awards, for Take Me With You!

2020 – Longlisted, New Philosopher Writers’ Award XXVI ‘Change’

2020 – Shortlisted for the NZSA/Auckland Museum Research + Residency Grant

2019-2020 – Robert Lord Writers’ Cottage Residency, Dunedin (10 weeks)

2019 – ANZAC Bridge Fellowship with NZ Pacific Studio, Mt Bruce (3 weeks)

2018 – Commended, inaugural Manawatu Writers Festival Nonfiction Writing Competition

2017 – Longlisted, Thresholds International Short Fiction Feature Writing Competition

2016 – Shortlisted, Bridport Prize for Flash Fiction

2016 – Scholarship recipient to attend the inaugural Kapiti Writers’ Retreat, Waikanae

2015 – Winter Writer in Residence, NZ Pacific Studio, Mt Bruce (including a live-to-air broadcast interview with Hugo Manson at Radio Eketahuna)

2011 – Recipient (with others) of the Fulton-Downer Gold Medal President’s Award for engineering in the role of public service. Awarded to engineers who were active in the response phase of the 2010 and 2011 Canterbury Earthquakes

2003 – Finalist, Darius Press Short Story Competition

1985 – Winner, Frank Alack Award for Short Fiction (administered by Forest and Bird)

Are you ready to work with
The Technical Storyteller?

If you're interested in learning more about how to use technical storytelling in your business, please contact us today.
We’re excited to help you get started.
Technical Storytelling:
Engage the Power of Story

© 2023 Karen Wrigglesworth